Classical Recital Project

  • Daniel Gaede, Violin

    Coming to Japan August 2024

    Daniel Gaede was born in Hamburg in 1966.
    Between 1994 and 2001 he was concertmaster of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. He studied with Brandis in Berlin, Max Rostal in Switzerland and Joseph Gingold in the United States. He was awarded prizes at the Carl Flesch Competition in London and the Artist International Competition in New York. In 1989, he was awarded the Joseph Joachim Prize by the Berlin Academy of Arts. He gave a recital at the Carnegie Hall in New York in 1992. Gaede gave performances as soloist with Philharmonia Orchestra London, City of London Sinfonietta and Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra with conductors such as Michael Tilson Thomas and Richardo Muti. Many recordings with labels Largo, Tacet, Deutsche Grammophon, and SONY.
    In 2000, he was appointed Professor at the new Nuremberg University of Music.

    Focusing on teaching and nurturing younger generations, he serves also as teacher at the Young Ensemble Academy in Karuizawa (YEK) held since 2011. In 2018 and 2020, he appeared two times in the NHK's popular TV show "Miracle Lessons" in which world-class teachers give children weekly lessons to exchange not only technics but also emotions.

    YEK Young Ensemble Academy in Karuizawa Website
    PVK Piano&Violin Seminar in Karuizawa Website

    Concert information

    ・August 21th,2024(Wed)18:00start
    Concert by 5 Virtuoso
    Place:Karuizawa Ohga Hall
    Please check this link for more information

    ・August 23rd,2024(Fri) 16:00start
    YEK String Orchestra
    Place:Karuizawa Ohga Hall
    Please check this link for more information

    ・August 27th,2024(Tue) 18:30start
    Daniel Gaede & Yukio Yokoyama Duo Concert
    Place:Karuizawa Ohga Hall
    Please check this link for more information

  • Vienna Nicolai String Quartet

    Wilfried Kazuki Hedenborg (1st violin) – Benjamin Morrison (2nd violin) – Gerhard Marschner (viola) – Bernhard Naoki. Hedenborg (violoncello)

    The members of the Vienna based string quartet have been playing together for years, until the "Vienna Nicolai String Quartet" was finally founded. A classical string quartet, the supreme discipline of chamber music. They mainly focus on the First Viennese School and early Viennese Romantic period without neglecting other quartet music. Each individual’s experience as soloists, chamber musicians as well as orchestra musicians of no less than the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and the Vienna State Opera Orchestra has enormously enriched the very intense work. Having performed in festivals and music centers throughout Europe and Asia, the ensemble has established itself as a highly recognized rising string quartet. Their appearance in the Vienna Philharmonic Chamber Music Series in the Vienna State Opera as well as their recent tour through China, including the National Centre for the Performing Arts Beijing and the Oriental Art Center Shanghai, were highly celebrated. 

    Vienna Nicolai String Quartet Special Website (in Japanese)

  • Hedenborg Trio
    Coming to Japan on June 15~23, 2025

    Wilfried Kazuki Hedenborg (violin) – Bernhard Naoki Hedenborg (violoncello) – Julian Yo Hedenborg (piano)

    From one of the finest orchestra in the world, "Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra", there are Violonist Wilfried Kazuki Hedenborg (oldest son), with the cellist Bernhard Naoki Hedenborg (2nd son). Then, with the pianist Julian Yo Hedenborg (3rd son), they are the Hedenborg Trio, a special trio of brothers.
    Their father is a Swedish violonist and their mother is a Japanese pianist, a family of musicians. While growing up in Salzburg, their home was filled with music everyday. Then both Kazuki and Naoki have become group members of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and now take an active role in the Viennese tradition as musicians. When they are together, they speak Japanese and the more they discover Japanese culture and customs, the more they like it. They can speak in Japanese during their MCs. Please enjoy their unique abyss of chamber music.